Calendar of Events

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Nominations open for the 2020 Oroville Lifetime Achievement Award - Sameul J. Norris Award

OROVILLE, CA – January 14, 2020 – The Oroville City Council is asking the community to provide nominations for the “Samuel J. Norris Award for Excellence.”  In 2002, the City Council approved this annual award for significant lifetime achievements toward improving the quality of life in the City of Oroville. 

Samuel (Sam) Norris was a civil engineer who arrived in Oroville in 1903 with his wife and three children.  He served in private and official capacities, including preparing a report that led to the construction of the Western Pacific Railroad with a one percent grade through the Feather River Canyon, doing most of the rail connection studies while working incognito.  He served as City Engineer from 1911 until his retirement in 1952. His first assignments were paving specifications for the business district and the plans for the City’s storm water system.

Nominees can either be an individual or group of individuals that have improved the quality of life in the City of Oroville.  Consideration will also be given to significant community service, providing positive leadership to the community and significant achievement(s) in the nominee’s life that inspired others to improve the community.

Past recipients include, Bernie Richter, Dan Cook, Kenneth Richter, Donald Richter, Eugene Ludwig, Jack McKillop, Elisabeth Isch, Clay Castleberry, Jim Moll, Darrell Stevens, Jim Lehoff, Ray Sousa, Lee Jernigan, Wendell P. Hammon, the Charlie Gee Family, Dean Hill, Sr., Stu Shaner and Bud Tracy.  Awardees are displayed on a plaque in the foyer of the City Council Chambers.  

Nomination applications are available by contacting the City Clerk’s Office at (530) 538-2535, or by stopping by the Oroville City Hall located at 1735 Montgomery Street, Oroville, CA. 95965. The application is also available on the City’s website:   Completed nomination applications will be accepted until 4:00 P.M. Wednesday, February 26, 2020. The applications will be reviewed and considered by the City Council with the recipient honored at the State of the City on April 2nd at the State Theatre.

 For More Information: Click Here

Return to full list >>