2332 Montgomery Street • (530) 538-2497
Hours: Fri-Sat-Sun Noon - 4pm • Closed Dec 1 through Jan 31
CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD A BROCHURE
First opened in 1932 by the Native Sons & Daughters of the Golden West, and now operated by the City of Oroville, this museum was built as an oversized replica of a 49er’s cabin. The original building has been enlarged to now hold 6,000 square feet of historic treasures.
The collection concentrates on items illustrating the pioneers’ life up to the late 1920s It includes such diverse items such as; Antique pianos, the original Oregon City School organ, a grand old clock from Bidwell Bar, gambler’s items, dolls (including a doll from the Donner Party), a miner's vest tailored to hold different size nuggets, and even a handmade gold needle.
The Indian artifact display contains one of the larger arrowhead and basket collections in the area. There is also a fascinating collection of Grand Army of the Republic memorabilia. One display is devoted to the lives of the Danforth and Boyle pioneer families, who founded the museum and kept it open for decades.
A visit here will give you a peek into the early California settlers’ lives!
Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.