1500 Broderick Street • (530) 538-2496
The City of Oroville will be hosting the Grand Re-opening of the
Chinese Temple and Museum Complex
on Thursday, August 27th from 3:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Click "HERE" to view the attached invitation.
Open 7 days a week Noon to 4:00 • Closed Holidays and Dec 15 through Jan 31
CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD A BROCHURE (ENGLISH VERSION)
CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD A BROCHURE (CHINESE VERSION)
Built in 1863 to serve the largest community of Chinese north of Sacramento, this temple of treasures is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and also as a California Landmark. It was first opened to visitors during California's 1949 Centennial. Although it is now a museum, it is still an active temple and used occasionally for worship.
The main temple is unique in that it serves many eastern religions as “The Temple of Many deities (Liet Sheng Kong). As the area prospered, separate temples for Confucianism and Buddhism were added. In 1968, Tapestry Hall was built to display the extensive collection of embroidered tapestries, parade parasols, and other objects of beauty. A priceless collection of Chinese and American costumes is arranged to contrast the two cultures representing the decades from 1850 to 1930. In 2008, the Fong Lee Company Building was built to display artifacts from the medicinal herb sales and gold purchasing shop of the Chan family.
Within the temple compound is a garden with plantings originating in China, featuring a Lace Bark Pine tree, and bamboo planted in the 1860s. The fish pond has lily pads that bloom during the summer, and the Pamello tree fruit is usually ripe during the Chinese New Year.
Oroville Museum Tour Map
Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.