Call to schedule your 2018 tours at (530) 538-2401.
The City of Oroville
is seeking volunteers
to serve as Docents
in the city museums
The Docent Association Program began in 1984. The City of Oroville Museum Docents have many responsibilities included in staffing the various museums. They act as tour-guides and interact with visitors to ensure that they have a memorable experience. They collect admission fees, staff the gifts shops, archive artifacts, update records, and assist with special projects. Docents are asked to work two periods of 4 hours each per month ... but may work more if desired.
Docents truly are AMBASSADORS to all who visit the City museums. They are also the life blood of making the museums work!
For more information please call (530) 538-2508
Applications can be found at City Hall,1735 Montgomery Street, Oroville, CA 95965
Or online at www.cityoforoville.org
Feather River Nature Center & Native Plant ParkCategories:
MUSEUM IS CLOSED FOR REMAINDER OF 2018 - REPAIRS
WILL REOPEN APRIL 2019
Location: Entrance located at Montgomery St and Old Ferry Road
Nature Center: Open every day from sunrise to sunset
Bath House Museum: Open April -October on Saturday and Sunday 12-4pm.
Guided Tours: Guided tours of the grounds & museum are available any day of the week and can be requested by calling 530-538-2508.
Special Features Include:
- Bath House Museum
- Picnic Tables
- River View
- Trail Access for Walking and Biking
The reserve the park for an event, please contact the City of Oroville at (530) 538-2508.
The bank of the Feather River below the Bath House was once the site of a Maidu fishing village. The river provided a bountiful supply of giant Chinook salmon and acorns were harvested from the groves of Blue Oaks. Gold was discovered in the Feather River in 1849 bringing a tent city of fortune hunters virtually overnight. The gold soon ran out and the miners left as quickly as they had appeared.
As the need for recreation increased, the Feather River became the ideal place for fishing, swimming and picnicking. This area was established as a City Park in 1926.
The Bath House was built in the mid 1930’s and provided showers and restroom facilities for the swimmers and sunbathers. In December of 1937, a major flood took out the beach area, large trees and altered the river creating a dangerous undertow, making it no longer suitable for recreation. The Bath House was soon then abandoned.
In the fall of 1996, a group of community members gathered to clear the old bath house and in the process, decided to reclaim “Oroville’s first city park” and make it into a Nature Center.
Today the Bath House Museum provides nature education programming, exhibits portraying local wildlife, basaltic boulders as well as paintings. The Nature Center grounds are home to various native plants, trees and animals. The Center also features benches, trails and lies above the breathtaking backdrop of the Feather River.
The Feather River Nature Center and Bath House is operated by the City of Oroville's Parks and Trees Department. The facility is staffed by the Oroville City Docents Association and the grounds are cared for by parks staff and volunteers from the Friends of the Feather River Nature Center, a nonprofit support organization.